John McIntyre was the Association chairperson from 2000 to 2005 and a Committee member for many years. He lived in Rankin Way and took great pride in representing the housing association and was an excellent committee member and chair. He was responsible for opening the Rankin Way development with HRH Princess Anne in 2001. In honour of him following his death in early 2006, the Association re-launched its good neighbour award where each year we would ask our local residents to nominate a neighbour to the Association. Someone who goes out of their way to help – putting out the bins, getting some shopping, keeping the place neat and tidy, or just being a friend. Judging takes place by our current chairperson before the AGM. Many of the entries are worthy winners but we only choose one winner each year.

We award the trophy and vouchers at the Annual General Meeting but its never too early to nominate someone – complete the form here and send it in to the Association.  A closing date will be provided annually to coincide with our AGM.

2018 Winner

Good Neighbour Award 2018

This year we received five nominations for the “John McIntyre” Good Neighbour Award.

The winner (picked from a hat) was Mr William McKenzie of Barnes Street Barrhead. Mr McKenzie was nominated for taking the time to keep the close neat and tidy, for maintaining the back garden and for being a kind and thoughtful neighbour!! We were honoured to present Mr McKenzie with the “John McIntyre” trophy, certificate and £50 shopping voucher.


2018 Winner

We received two nominees for this award, Alec Smith and Joe Connelly.  Joe is pictures below receiving his award.

Joe was nominated as a fantastic neighbour who helps with the bins, cutting grass and generally keeping a lookout for his neighbours in the event that they need

anything, and always has time for a little chat. Well done Joe.

2017 Winner



We announced 5 nominations at the AGM on 23.08.16 and all received a certificate and shopping vouchers. The overall winner was Ms Carol Riddell from Barrhead and runners up were Mrs McDougal from Neilston, Mr and Mrs Sweeney from Barrhead, Mr Alexander Smith from Barrhead, and Mrs Mary Martin from Barrhead. Congratulations to them – all worthy winners. Winners at the AGM included our garden competition prize winners too.


winners with Tom Arthur MSP                                 carol-riddell-good-neighbour-award

Picture, Tom Arthur MSP with AGM winners                                        Pictured, Caroll Riddell, Good Neighbour trophy winner 2016